Free Consultation (404) 474-7122

Here’s What You Should Know About Liability Insurance for Your Automobile in Georgia

If you have ever been involved in a car accident in Georgia, then you know how complicated trying to navigate through your rights to recovery can be. In any state, if you want to drive a vehicle, you must provide proof that you can pay for damages in the event of an accident. You have to provide proof of this whether you were in the right—or in the wrong. If you fail to provide proof you could potentially have your license revoked and even your car registration taken.

Georgia State Law

Every state has its own set minimum for liability policy. Liability policy is expressed in three numbers. The first two numbers represent coverage limits for bodily injury. The first number is the total amount of coverage available if you are at fault to pay for expenses of another person from the accident. The second number is the amount of coverage that is available to cover expenses for others involved in an accident if you are responsible. The third number is the sum available to pay for property damages of others involved.

Take Georgia’s policy for example. Liability car insurance coverage is typically written out in the following format: 25/50/25

That means the minimum liability limits for Georgians are:

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person in an accident
  • $50,000 for all injuries in an accident
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

What does this mean? It means that Georgia is an at-fault state so you would seek damage benefits from the insurance company of the person who caused the accident.

Georgia’s Diminished Value Situation

Unfortunately, not very many Georgians know about the diminished value law. Some may not understand it and others assume it is a negative thing. But it is actually a privilege, as Georgia is one of the few states that offer you the right to recover your vehicle’s diminished value after an accident. Georgia holds a minority position whereas other states outright reject diminution in value coverage. Diminished value is a loss in the value of your vehicle. Put simply, the law assumes that even if your car is returned to its pre-accident condition, it has lost value. It will never be worth what it was before even if it looks newer and drives stronger.

With that said, not every vehicle qualifies for a diminished status—such as those cars that were junk before the accident. Or if the accident didn’t do a lot of damage.

Tips on What to do After Repair Work is Done

  • Make sure you have a copy of repair cost as well as the police report.
  • Consent to absolutely nothing before talking to a lawyer.
  • Don’t take the first settlement offered.

If you are ever involved a car accident where your automobile sustained property damage, then you may be entitled to the diminished value of your car. Whether the accident was your fault or not. The laws can be complicated around liability so consider hiring a local attorney who is experience in this area.

N/A
6185 Crooked Creek Rd NW
Ste. H
Peachtree Corners, GA 30092
Get Directions
FAX: (678) 302-9366